Sponsor: Mario Fux <>, Jeremy Whiting <jpwhiting at KDE dot org>

KDE Neon provides an easy and elegant way for people to test the latest from KDE, or use the latest releases of KDE Software.

This is one KDE project out of hundreds. If you're looking for an official KDE distro this is not it.


List the people committed to the project and actively working on it:

  • Jonathan Riddel
  • Rohan Garg
  • Harald Sitter
  • Aaron Honeycutt
  • Valorie Zimmerman
  • Ovidiu-Florin BOGDAN
  • Benjamin Kerensa
  • Jens Reuterberg

Manifesto Compliance Plan


Open Governance

Already open governance to some extent, anyone with a KDE account can contribute: mailing list, forum and IRC channel #kde-neon available.

Focus point: mailing list under used?

Free Software

Users have the freedom to run, copy, distribute, study, change and improve the software. - from


We welcome all contributors.


We strive for simplicity, quality and speed through ever-improving automation.

Common Ownership

Anyone can contribute directly.

End-User Focus

KDE software for all.


  • Code of Conduct: We promote the KDE Code of Conduct
  • Contributor License Agreement: We encourage all our contributors to sign the FLA
  • Established practices:
  • Source materials hosted on KDE git infrastructure
  • Online services are not on KDE infrastructure: website will be moved to when allowed
  • KDE Licensing policy: all our software follows the KDE standards
  • KDE branding guidelines: We work with the Visual Design Group at every step
  • No patents

Candidate ready

Status Description Notes
DONE Project description
DONE Project team see above
DONE Manifesto compliance plan


Status Description Notes
DONE Repository and code available
DONE Mailing list available
DONE Website available
DONE Active community
IN PROGRESS Manifesto compliance KDE sysadmin has access to server, all KDE git accounts have access to neon git, Jenkins still TBD
DONE Bugtracker [Product neon on]

This page was last edited on 7 March 2016, at 15:16. Content is available under Creative Commons License SA 4.0 unless otherwise noted.