Projects/Nepomuk/Sprints/2009

Jump to: navigation, search

Contents

First Nepomuk Coding Sprint 2009

The first Nepomuk Coding Sprint will take place in Freiburg, Germany on June 19-21, 2009.


Location

The Sprint will take place in the conference room of the Gasthaus Hirschen. The room is booked from Friday, 16:00 to Sunday, 18:00.

There will be wireless LAN and drinks. You can order coffee and even stuff to eat from the restaurant.


Directions

Train Station -> Hotel

Reaching the hotel Frohe Einkehr from the train station is rather simple. There are two possibilities:

  1. Take the tram number 3 direction Vauban and exit at Paula-Modersohn Platz. Then walk down the Hexentalstrasse until you reach the roundabout. From there follow the Alte Strasse until you reach the hotel (see map to reach Frohe Einkehr and map to reach Grüner Baum - be aware that Google's maps do not reflect the new roundabout yet).
  2. Take SBG-Bus 7208 direction Ehrenkirchen Gewerbegebiet. For hotel Frohe Einkehr exit at Schlossweg. Then take the Öleweg (very steep) until you reach the hotel (100m). For hotel Grüner Baum exit at Dorfstrasse and walk back a few meters down the Hexentalstrasse until you reach the hotel.

Hotel -> Workshop

The Hirschen is only a few minutes by foot from the hotel Frohe Einkehr. For proof see the map.

Reaching the Hirschen from the hotel Grüner Baum is even simpler. Just cross the main road and follow the Dorfstrasse into the Friedhofsweg. Again simpler with a map.


Participants

Name Email Application Hotel (room type)
Albert Cervera i Areny albert@nan-tic.com KDE OpenObject Client Frohe Einkehr (double)
Alessandro Diaferia alediaferia@gmail.com Raptor Frohe Einkehr (double)
Daniel Winter dw@danielwinter.de Amarok Frohe Einkehr (double)
Francesco Grieco fgrieco@gmail.com Raptor Frohe Einkehr (double)
George Goldberg grundleborg@googlemail.com Telepathy Frohe Einkehr (single)
Lukas Appelhans l.appelhans@gmx.de Raptor/KGet Frohe Einkehr (double)
Marcel Wiesweg marcel.wiesweg@gmx.de Digikam Frohe Einkehr (double)
Mathieu Dupuy mdupuy@mandriva.com Mandriva (TaskTop) Grüner Baum (single)
Peter Penz peter.penz@gmx.at Dolphin Frohe Einkehr (single)
Sebastian Faubel sebastian.faubel@gmail.com Gnome Frohe Einkehr (double)
Sebastian Trueg trueg@kde.org Nepomuk-KDE -
Tobias König tokoe@kde.org Akonadi Frohe Einkehr (double)
Tom Albers tomalbers@kde.nl Mailody Frohe Einkehr (single)

Preparation

Thinking

In order for the workshop to be efficient and productive all participants should start out with the same basic knowledge.

The goal of the workshop is to extend existing applications with Nepomuk features. This not only means adding tagging and rating but also creating new data automatically that is not created/remembered at the moment. A typical example is the source of a download.

In order to do this it would be good for participants to think about the possible data their application could remember and draft an ontology for the data (if the data cannot be specified using concepts from the Nepomuk ontologies).

Apart from remembering data there is of course also the possibility to let the user add new information of any kind.

Reading

Also it would be very good if everybody could familiarize themselves with the Nepomuk API and the Soprano API (most importantly Soprano::Model::executeQuery) and at least skim over the Nepomuk howtos to get an idea of how the system works.

It is also never a bad idea to get a look at SPARQL, the query language used in Nepomuk. A valuable helper is the SPARQL quick reference.

Compiling

It is recommended to have a development environment with KDE trunk (KDE 4.3) and the current nepomuk-kde playground already installed on the laptop.


Results

Check out the following blog posts:


This page was last modified on 27 July 2012, at 19:01. This page has been accessed 211 times. Content is available under Creative Commons License SA 3.0 as well as the GNU Free Documentation License 1.2.
KDE® and the K Desktop Environment® logo are registered trademarks of KDE e.V.Legal