AdaLovelaceDay/2012/LaTeX with Kile

From KDE Community Wiki

My name is Melissa and I'm a mathematics professor at the Federal University of Santa Catarina in Florianópolis, southern Brazil. As a mathematician, I deal with LaTeX on a daily basis (all my course notes are written in LaTeX, as well as all of my articles, exercises for my students and well, shopping lists! :)

In this tutorial, it would be impossible to talk about all that LaTeX has to offer, as it is an extremely powerful and complete text processing tool, with capabilities including vector graphics generation, music sheet writing, generation of braille texts, crossword puzzle formatting, etc. We will focus instead on how to use LaTeX with Kile, which is a great LaTeX editor.

If you want to follow this tutorial "interactively", I would like to start by asking you all to install Kile, if you don't have it already installed. Installing Kile should also install texlive-core and texlive-bin (maybe that's called different in a different distro, I'm using chakra) but that should be all we need for basic LaTeX document generation.

While you are setting up your environments, I'll briefly explain what LaTeX is, and why it is useful.

An Introduction to LaTeX

LaTeX is not a text editor. It was developed in the 80's by Leslie Lamport to be a set of macros for TeX, a typography system developed in the 70's by Donald Knuth. The basic idead of TeX was to popularize good typography (mainly in academia), and to provide a text processing system that would always generate the same result in any computer. However, TeX turns out to be fairly complicated, and Leslie Lamport began an effort in the 80's to generate some high-level macros in order to make it simpler to use. You can think of LaTeX as a markup language (something like HTML), although it is much more than that. The basic idea of TeX and LaTeX is to separate the form and the contents of a document. The resulting document file is usually a PDF file.