Schedules/Plasma 5

< Schedules
Revision as of 16:32, 6 November 2018 by MartinR (Talk | contribs) (Moved 5.14.3 to "History of releases")

Jump to: navigation, search

This page contains the planned release schedule for Plasma 5.

Normal (non-LTS-)releases are planned every 4 months (3 times a year). The next LTS release is yet to be decided.

The first Beta of every release series of Plasma is tagged and released on Thursday following the corresponding KDE Frameworks release (which is usually released on the second saturday of a month). The Repo freeze is 2 weeks before that. The first version of Plasma (.0) of every release series is tagged three weeks after the Beta and released on the following Tuesday.

Bugfix tags/releases are made on Tuesdays in a Fibonacci sequence of weeks (1, 1, 2, 3, 5) after each previous release of the same series (e.g. ".1" is released one week after ".0", ".2" is released one week after ".1", ".3" is released two weeks after ".2", ...)

This schedule is our best guess at this point, in case the quality is not deemed good enough before the final release or the release of KDE Frameworks or the required Qt version is delayed, this schedule is subject to revision.

All deadlines are due midday UTC, but if you need a few more hours, notify someone from the release team.

Calendar on Phabricator

Release mangler: Jonathan Riddell, Riddell in #plasma on Freenode

Release Series

The following table shows the currently supported release series' as well as the next planned release series.

Release Series Dependencies Support Status
5.8 LTS Qt 5.6, KDE Frameworks 5.26 Releases made as required in cases of important bugfixes or security issues
5.12 LTS Qt 5.9, KDE Frameworks 5.42 6 monthly bugfix releases (scheduled until July 2020, further releases to be considered then if needed)
5.14 Qt 5.11, KDE Frameworks 5.50 Bugfix releases as scheduled
5.15 Qt 5.11 and Qt 5.12, KDE Frameworks 5.54 Open for development

Future releases

Version Type Date Tars Date Release Comments
5.14.4 Bugfix Tue 2018-11-27 Tue 2018-11-27 (same day) Bug fixes and new translations only from Plasma/5.14 branch
Repo Freeze Thu 2019-01-03 Thu 2019-01-03 (same day) List of repos for Plasma 5.15 fixed
5.14.5 Bugfix Tue 2019-01-08 Tue 2019-01-08 (same day) Bug fixes and new translations only from Plasma/5.14 branch. Delayed by 1 week for holidays.
5.14.90 Beta Thu 2019-01-17 Thu 2019-01-17 (same day) Message and feature freeze, Plasma/5.15 branch made, Depends on Frameworks 5.54
5.15.0 Release Thu 2019-02-07 Tue 2019-02-12 Final tag from Plasma/5.15 branch, only urgent fixes approved by release mangler after tars please
5.15.1 Bugfix Tue 2019-02-19 Tue 2019-02-19 (same day) Bug fixes and new translations only from Plasma/5.15 branch
5.15.2 Bugfix Tue 2019-02-26 Tue 2019-02-26 (same day) Bug fixes and new translations only from Plasma/5.15 branch
5.12.8 LTS LTS Bugfix Tue 2019-03-05 Tue 2019-03-05 Bug fixes and new translations only from Plasma/5.12 branch
5.15.3 Bugfix Tue 2019-03-12 Tue 2019-04-12 (same day) Bug fixes and new translations only from Plasma/5.15 branch
5.15.4 Bugfix Tue 2019-04-02 Tue 2019-04-02 (same day) Bug fixes and new translations only from Plasma/5.15 branch
Repo Freeze Thu 2019-05-02 List of repos for Plasma 5.16 fixed
5.15.5 Bugfix Tue 2019-05-07 Tue 2019-05-07 (same day) Bug fixes and new translations only from Plasma/5.15 branch
5.15.90 Beta Thu 2019-05-16 Thu 2019-05-16 (same day) Message and feature freeze, Plasma/5.16 branch made, Depends on Frameworks 5.58
5.16.0 Release Thu 2019-06-06 Tue 2019-06-11 Final tag from Plasma/5.16 branch, only urgent fixes approved by release mangler after tars please
5.16.1 Bugfix Tue 2019-06-18 Tue 2019-06-18 (same day) Bug fixes and new translations only from Plasma/5.16 branch
5.16.2 Bugfix Tue 2019-06-25 Tue 2019-06-25 (same day) Bug fixes and new translations only from Plasma/5.16 branch
5.16.3 Bugfix Tue 2019-07-09 Tue 2019-07-09 (same day) Bug fixes and new translations only from Plasma/5.16 branch
5.16.4 Bugfix Tue 2019-07-30 Tue 2019-07-30 (same day) Bug fixes and new translations only from Plasma/5.16 branch
5.16.5 Bugfix Tue 2019-09-03 Tue 2019-09-03 (same day) Bug fixes and new translations only from Plasma/5.16 branch
Repo Freeze Thu 2019-09-05 List of repos for Plasma 5.17 fixed
5.12.9 LTS LTS Bugfix Tue 2019-09-10 Tue 2019-09-10 Bug fixes and new translations only from Plasma/5.12 branch
5.16.90 Beta Thu 2019-09-19 Thu 2019-09-19 (same day) Message and feature freeze, Plasma/5.17 branch made, Depends on Frameworks 5.62
5.17.0 Release Thu 2019-10-10 Tue 2019-10-15 Final tag from Plasma/5.17 branch, only urgent fixes approved by release mangler after tars please
5.17.1 Bugfix Tue 2019-10-22 Tue 2019-10-22 (same day) Bug fixes and new translations only from Plasma/5.17 branch
5.17.2 Bugfix Tue 2019-10-29 Tue 2019-10-29 (same day) Bug fixes and new translations only from Plasma/5.17 branch
5.17.3 Bugfix Tue 2019-11-12 Tue 2019-11-12 (same day) Bug fixes and new translations only from Plasma/5.17 branch
5.17.4 Bugfix Tue 2019-12-03 Tue 2019-12-03 (same day) Bug fixes and new translations only from Plasma/5.17 branch
5.17.5 Bugfix Tue 2020-01-07 Tue 2020-01-07 (same day) Bug fixes and new translations only from Plasma/5.17 branch. Time may differ due to holidays

History of releases

Jump to first release of: 5.1 | 5.2 | 5.3 | 5.4 | 5.5 | 5.6 | 5.7 | 5.8 LTS | 5.9 | 5.10 | 5.11 | 5.12 LTS | 5.13 | 5.14


Content is available under Creative Commons License SA 4.0 unless otherwise noted.