KDE Core/Platform 11

< KDE Core
Revision as of 14:54, 26 March 2011 by Drf (Talk | contribs)

Jump to: navigation, search

Insert logo here

making it now (Nuno)

Coreproposal.png

User:Saleel's Proposal. SVG:Media:Coreproposal.svg

Purpose of the Sprint

To examine the current state and near future of the KDE Platform (kdelibs and kdebase-runtime), particularly as it relates to the growing usage of it in new contexts such as mobile or on Windows and MacOS and its traditional usage as a set of conveniences and consistency creators for KDE application development.

The sprint will aim to create an actionable, multi-year roadmap for kdelibs and kdebase-runtime and will examine issues of modularity, topicality and the inherent dichotomy between the KDE Platform as an application development framework (similar to Qt) and as a stand-alone platform to target (similar to, e.g. Windows, MacOS, etc.)

Participants

This sprint will aim to bring together developers who contribute to the KDE Platform directly, who use it in sophisticated applications, packagers of it and those involved in setting similar policies for Qt.

The proposed break down of attendees:

  • 12-15 kdelibs and kdebase-runtime commiters
  • 3-5 KDE application developers
  • 2-3 packagers
  • 1-2 people from the KDE Release Team
  • 1-2 Qt representatives

making for a total of 19-27 people.

If you would like to attend, please record your name below. Date organization will occur at a later point.

Name Email Role / Work Arrival Depart Est. Cost Need Sponsor? Need Hotel? Food Req. Airport Flights
Aaron Seigo aseigo@kde.org Meeting facilitation, libplasma ~170 Euro (could be 1/2) yes yes vegetarian
John Layt john@layt.org KLocale & co yes yes
Marijn Kruisselbrink mek@kogmbh.com kdelibs mobile, meego packaging, koffice yes yes vegetarian
Thiago Macieira thiago@kde.org Qt, used to work in kdelibs no no any
Andreas Hartmetz ahartmetz@gmail.com kdelibs - mostly KIO and some kdeui yes yes yes
Dario Freddi drf@kde.org Authorization Framework, Solid, Possibly all things KCM* yes yes any LIN/BGY/MXP
Kevin Ottens ervin@kde.org KDE Platform+Frameworks modularity, interaction with Qt yes yes no seafood
David Faure faure@kde.org kdelibs, interaction with Qt no yes MRS/LYS
Alexander Neundorf neundorf@kde.org buildsystem (kdesupport +kdelibs +kdepimlibs +kdebaselibs) modularization yes yes any
Raphael Kubo da Costa kubito@gmail.com Mostly kdecore and kio. KDE/Qt on FreeBSD. yes yes any
George Kiagiadakis kiagiadakis.george@gmail.com drkonqi, small contributions to kdelibs, debian packaging yes yes any
Olivier Goffart (not sure) ogoffart@kde.org Qt, former kdelibs contributor (port to Qt4, knotify) maybe maybe 2500 kcal/day
Till Adam adam@kde.org kdepim, kdelibs, KDE/Mac, KDE/Windows, KDE/Maemo, KDE/WinCE, KDE/MeeGo if you don't want it eaten, don't keep it around me
Sebastian Kügler sebas@kde.org release team probably probably omnivore AMS
Frederik Gladhorn gladhorn@kde.org Qt, knewstuff maybe probably any Oslo
Albert Astals Cid aacid@kde.org l10n, misc yes yes almost any Dublin
Sune Vuorela sune@vuorela.dk Packaging and weirdness most likely most likely yes cph; prefers train.
Stephen Kelly skelly@kde.org kdelibs, modularisation, Qt interfacing yes yes Anything but sushi TXL/SXF
Volker Krause vkrause@kde.org kdepimlibs, kdepim, KDE on MeeGo/Maemo5/WinCE yes anything TXL/SXF
Ivan Čukić ivan.cukic@kde.org libplasma, activities yes yes anything
Teo Mrnjavac teo@kde.org Social desktop yes please yes vegan coming by car
Marco Martin mart@kde.org libplasma, mobile profiles, activities yes yes anything
Cornelius Schumacher schumacher@kde.org Used to work on kdelibs, kdebase-runtime, and KDE PIM, these days mostly 3rd party applications. Would love to pitch the idea of merging Qt and the KDE platform to this group to trigger some productive discussion and some out-of-the box thinking maybe yes any
Valentin Rusu kde@rusu.info Authorization Framework, KCM* yes yes any coming by car from Lyon
Helio Castro helio@kde.org KDE Platform, integration, mobile no yes any FLN
Mario Fux fux@kde.org Sonnet (NLP framework), Nepomuk 01.06. 07.06. 0 CHF no no any
Alex Fiestas afiestas@kde.org libsolid, BlueDevil, Kamoso yes yes vegetarian (eggs+milk)
Will Stephenson wstephenson@kde.org kdelibs, kdepim, packaging 01.06. 03.06. ? CHF no yes any
Gregory Schlomoff gregory.schlomoff@gmail.com Developer of a non-KDE app that uses kdelibs and kdepimlibs. Small contributor to kdepimlibs. Wants to help making it easier for Qt devs to use relevant kde libraries. yes, if possible. yes any looking for some cheap way to come from Paris. Car pooling?

Topics

Note: these are simply sample topics, not final direction on what will actually be discussed. Actual topics will be generated at a pre-sprint meeting online as well as through group authorship of this section.

Modularization of KDE libraries

Alex: should IMO include not only kdelibs, but also kdesupport, kdepimlibs and kdebase libs

Framework vs Platform

Redundancies

KLocale & co vs QLocale & co: How to act local everywhere while retaining configurability.

Build Profiles

Build system

What level modularity do we want/need here ? Chances of CMake becoming the buildsystem for Qt.

QML and Javascript

Logistics

Dates

June 1/2 - 6/7

Location

Randa, Switzerland

Travel and Accommodations

See at the general Randa page.

Food, Drink and Shopping

See at the general Randa page.


Content is available under Creative Commons License SA 4.0 unless otherwise noted.