The printable version is no longer supported and may have rendering errors. Please update your browser bookmarks and please use the default browser print function instead.

Each year the KDE Community awards contributors the Akademy Awards, who have made a special contribution recently. The judges for the awards are the winners from the previous year.

There are 3 awards:

  • Best application
  • Best non-application contribution
  • Jury award


  • Best Application: Bhushan Shah for creating an entirely new platform for our applications: Plasma Mobile
  • Best Non-Application: Carl Schwan for their work on KDE's web presence
  • Jury's Award: Luigi Toscano for their many years of contributions to KDE's localization efforts and infrastructure


  • Best Application: Marco Martin for work on the Kirigami framework
  • Best Non-Application: Nate Graham for persistent work on the "KDE Usability & Productivity" blog
  • Jury's Awards: Volker Krause for long term contributions to KDE including; KNode, KDE PIM, KDE Itinerary and the UserFeedback framework


  • Best Application: Aditya Mehra for work on the Mycroft integration providing KDE with a free speech assistant which is free as in freedom
  • Best Non-Application: Valorie Zimmerman for work driving KDE's mentoring programs and the Community Working Group, and being one of KDE's good souls
  • Jury's Awards:
    • Sebastian Kügler for many years of relentless hacking and more (Plasma, KDE Marketing, years in the KDE e.V. Board)
    • David Edmundson for work on Telepathy, porting applications to Frameworks 5, Plasma, KWin, KWayland, and being the crazy guy around
    • Mario Fux for supporting KDE over many years through organizing the Randa meetings


  • Best Application: Kai Uwe Broulik for his valuable work on Plasma
  • Best Non-Application: Cornelius Schumacher for his long term contributions to KDE
  • Jury's Award: Martin Konold & Olaf Schmidt-Wischhöfer for their work on the KDE Free Qt Foundation


  • Best Application: Dominik Haumann and Christoph Cullmann for their work making Kate and the related parts
  • Best Non-Application: Aleix Pol for his work not just on KDE code but also on the community with KDE e.V. as a board member and KDE España
  • Jury's Award: Daniel Vrátil and the KDE PIMsters for creating and maintaining the largest suite of communication applications in the world


  • Best Application: Milian Wolff and the KDevelop team for their work on KDevelop
  • Best Non-Application: Jens Reuterberg & the Visual Design Group for The Breeze interface design
  • Jury's Award: Albert Vaca for the KDE Connect application.
  • Jury's Award: Scarlett Clark for her work advancing the continuous integration infrastructure to more platforms and modules


  • Best Application: Jean-Baptiste Mardelle for his work on Kdenlive
  • Best Non-Application: Michael Pyne for eleven years of kdesrc-build
  • Jury's Award: Ben Cooksley for planning out our systems and keeping them running smoothly


  • Best Application: Eike Hein for his work on Konversation
  • Best Non-Application: Vishesh Handa for taking over the Nepomuk maintainer hat and rocking at stabilizing the beast
  • Jury's Award: Timothee Giet for shaping the future and community of Krita
  • Jury's Award: Kenny Duffus for being the memory and soul of Akademy


  • Best Application: Camilla Boemann for her work on Calligra Words
  • Best Non-Application: Lydia Pintscher for her huge work within KDE and especially on the GSOC/SOK-project
  • Jury's Award: Kévin Ottens and Nicolás Alvarez for working on the future of KDE (Frameworks 5 & Git conversion)


  • Best Application: Martin Gräßlin for his work on KWin
  • Best Non-Application: Dario Andres for his work with the bug triaging team
  • Jury's Award: Tom Albers in building up the KDE sysadmin team, while continuing to do much work himself


  • Best Application: Aurélien Gâteau for his work on Gwenview
  • Best Non-Application: Anne Wilson for her work in user support
  • Jury's Award: Burkhard Lück for his work on improving the state of KDE documentation


  • Best Application: Peter Penz for his work on Dolphin
  • Best Non-Application: Celeste Lyn Paul for work in the usability team
  • Jury's Award: David Faure for greatest service to KDE


  • Best Application: Mark Kretschmann and the Amarok team
  • Best Non-Application: Nuno Pinheiro and the Oxygen team
  • Jury's Award: Aaron Seigo for his work on Plasma


  • Best Application: Sebastian Trueg for K3B
  • Best Non-Application: Matthias Kretz for his great work on Phonon
  • Jury's Award: Danny Allen for the Commit Digest


  • Best Application: Boudewijn Rempt for Krita
  • Best Non-Application: Alexander Neundorf for his work on CMake in KDE4
  • Jury's Award: Laurent Montel for KDE4 Commit Champion


  • Best Application: Albert Astals Cid and Enrico Ros for their work on KPDF
  • Best Non-Application: Lauri Watts for KDE documentation coordination
  • Jury's Award: Stephan Kulow and Oswald Buddenhagen for the effort they have put into the Subversion migration

This page was last edited on 13 September 2020, at 07:21. Content is available under Creative Commons License SA 4.0 unless otherwise noted.